It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:07 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Herb Garden info needed
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:49 pm 

I love to cook and use fresh herbs. Herbs at the grocery store are too expensive and often of poor quality. Herbs at the Farmers' Market are also usually too expensive (IMO). I'm thinking about planting a few herbs myself and would love some advice. I don't have a lot of time to devote to gardening, though.

Here are the herbs I would definitely like to grow:
    Sweet basil
    Italian parsley
    Rosemary
    Thyme

Herbs that would also be nice:
    Oregano
    Chives
    Cilantro

I welcome advice about how to best go about this. Would this be best right in the ground or in some sort of planter? What kind of sun? Soil preparation? etc. etc...

Thanks in advance?

Post subject: Herbs are easy
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:27 pm 

Herbs are very easy to grow, especially the ones that you listed. I am not an expert, but had some success last year growing herbs in pots and in a raised planter.
In large pots I combined several herbs. I had flat leafed Italian parsley and dill in a pot that hosted lots of caterpillars. I even stuck parsley in lots of my combination pots along with ornamental flowers. Parsley is easy to start from seed.
In a raised planter I had Borage, thyme, and basil.
I have a pot of rosemary that I have kept in the garage during 2 winters. In the spring, I bring it out and it continues to flourish.
Herbs need lots of sun and don't require a alot of water. They do well in poor soil.
To learn more, here is a web site for a herb magazine out of Topeka.
www.herbcompanion.com
They have quite a bit of information on their web site.
Good luck. Herbs are fun and easy.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:36 am